top of page

Sandburg Men’s Soccer Puts 6 Players on All-Region 4 Team

Carl Sandburg College was well represented on the All-Region 4 Division II men’s soccer team, placing three players each on the first team and second team.

Felipe Augusto Da Silva, Saul Etienne and Gabriel Barros Lima were first-team selections, while Rodrigo De la Fuente, Felipe Endo Dos Santos and Matteo Rissato Prado were second-team picks. They helped the Chargers to a 12-3-2 overall record, the No. 2 seed in the Region 4 tournament and an appearance in the region semifinals.

A sophomore center back, Da Silva was also nominated for All-America consideration while being voted all-region for the second year in a row. He started 15 contests for the Chargers and scored four goals on nine shots. His header in the 85th minute against Moraine Valley helped secure Sandburg’s 2-0 win in the quarterfinals of the Region 4 tournament.

Etienne, a sophomore forward, added all-region honors to his postseason accolades after being voted First-Team All-Arrowhead Conference earlier this month. He led Sandburg with eight goals, 22 points, 30 shots, 22 shots on goal and four game-winning goals this season.

Lima, a freshman defender, played in all 17 matches for Sandburg this fall, including 16 starts. He scored one goal and led the Chargers with seven assists. He was an integral part of a Sandburg defense that surrendered just 18 goals on the season and didn’t concede in eight matches.

De la Fuente appeared in 16 contests for the Chargers and finished second on the team to Etienne with seven goals and 15 points. The freshman forward converted both of his penalty kicks and tallied three game-winners, including the lone goal in Sandburg’s victory Sept. 6 at Illinois Central.

A sophomore center back, Dos Santos started all 17 matches for Sandburg. He scored two goals on the season and added an assist. His second-half goal at Rock Valley stood as the only score in the Chargers’ Sept. 17 road victory.

Prado, a sophomore center midfielder, appeared in all 17 matches and started 14 times for the Chargers. He tallied one goal, four assists and was second on the team with 25 shots.


First Team Magloire Makila (F, Prairie State) Leo Dutra (M, Prairie State) Agbokou Geoffroy (F, Prairie State) Felipe Augusto Da Silva (CB, Sandburg) Saul Etienne (F, Sandburg) Gabriel Barros Lima (D, Sandburg) Bachir Bouamama (M, Morton) Jean Leonardo (F, Morton) Tyler Marconi (F, Illinois Valley) Tyrese Baijnath (W, Illinois Valley) Khori Miles, (F, Kishwaukee) Bryan Cuevas-Tapia (CM, Rock Valley) Yamir Gallegos (M, Moraine Valley) Paul Urban (C, Triton) Colin Hart (GK, Illinois Valley)

Second Team Bruno Guiggiari (M, Prairie State) Igor Mrvalgevic (F, Prairie State) Thiago Souza (M, Prairie State) Rodrigo De la Fuente (F, Sandburg) Felipe Endo Dos Santos (CB, Sandburg) Matteo Rissato Prado (CM, Sandburg) Diego Rodriguez (M, Morton) Matteo Vennin (D, Morton) Francisco Pereira (D, Illinois Valley) Liam Clarkson (D, Illinois Valley) Ayman Farah (F, Kishwaukee) Victor Ibarra (CM, Rock Valley) Pedro Guzman (M, Moraine Valley) Pablo Mancha (F, Triton) Daniel Avila (F, Waubonsee) Alejandro Torres (F, Black Hawk) Sam Negus (GK, DuPage)

Honorable Mention Eric Anderson (CM, Waubonsee) Jamie Essam (M, Black Hawk) Gabe Voung (F, Madison) Malachi Daniel (F, Kankakee) Lucas Visser (GK, Oakton) Frank Antonio (M, South Suburban) Aaron Ruiz-Lopez (F, Bryant & Stratton) John Kraft (CB, Elgin) Ramiro Gonzalez (CM, Milwaukee Tech) Shani Mabruk (F, Daley) David Aquino (F, McHenry County)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page