top of page

IHSA Announces 2022-23 Officials of the Year

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2022-23 Officials of the Year in 22 IHSA sports. To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA or by an IHSA administrator. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official, and levels worked in the IHSA State Series. This year’s winners will be recognized during the 2023 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held July 7-8 in Normal, Illinois. “Far too often overlooked and underappreciated, sports officials are vital if high schools around the country wish to offer interscholastic athletics,” said IHSA Associated Executive Director Kurt Gibson. “Our membership is honored to be able to recognize these 22 individuals for their service to young people across Illinois. Their dedication to the avocation is a testament to their selfless nature, and we are grateful to be able to recognize these individuals for their excellence.” See the full list of honorees by sport below: IHSA OFFICIALS OF THE YEAR

Sport Official of the Year Hometown

Boys Soccer Michael Moore Park Ridge

Girls Soccer Thomas Schaefer Ottawa

Football Jeffrey Conrad Bartlett

Boys Basketball Larry Barnett Makanda

Girls Basketball Brian Rewerts Wyoming

Boys Lacrosse William Santie Downers Grove

Girls Lacrosse Noreen Rodriguez Arlington Heights

Baseball David Hasley Abingdon

Softball James Cahill Galesburg

Girls Volleyball Travis Pate Greenville

Boys Volleyball Marek Fracz Gilberts

Boys Swimming & Diving Nancy Myer Geneva

Girls Swimming & Diving Paul Beiersdorf Peoria

Water Polo Richard Marsh Suga Grove

Cross Country Fredrick Pelley Rockford

Boys Track & Field Dr. Charles Nagel Germantown Hills

Girls Track & Field Peter Struck Tinley Park

Wrestling Kenneth Watkins Maywood

Boys Gymnastics Brandon Tucker Highland Park

Girls Gymnastics Terri Lacy Crete

Competitive Cheer Julie Matarelli Edwardsville

Competitive Dance Cindy Albright Antioch

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page