top of page

Gale Scholars Class of 2026

By Steve Cheesman

It is with great pleasure that we announce the new inductees into the Gale Scholars Program, the Gale Scholars Class of 2026. These outstanding students have gone through a very rigorous selection process (application, references, interview, etc.) and have impressed the selection committee with their intelligence, imagination, goals and energy. These 11 students have participated in a wide variety of school and community activities, have performed significant community service and have excelled in the classroom (8th grade cumulative GPA of over 3.50). We send our heartiest congratulations to them and look forward to helping them achieve their dreams. I would like to extend a heartfelt thanks to Angela Vanderbloom, Churchill Junior High School Dean and Amy Burford, Sandburg College Gale Scholars Representative for their terrific work with the selection process. Listed below are the new inductees into the Gale Scholars Program:

Gale Scholars Class of 2026

Joy Basosa-Nzumba Belina Carillo-Fredrickson Davion Collins Aidan Hugai Vainqueur Mulata Moses Ponce Amaya Savage Jacob Sperry Lyric Sullivan Bailee Temple Daidriana Willford

There will be a Gale Scholars Induction Ceremony for these students (our first in-person ceremony in two years) on Tuesday, May 10, 2022 at Galesburg High School's Little Theater. The ceremony will begin at 1:00 p.m.

We would like to extend our thanks for all the support this program receives. It is greatly appreciated. The Gale Scholars Program is truly one of the great educational opportunities there is.

Recent Posts

See All

LEJA to Host Public Safety Open House March 6

Western Illinois University Law Enforcement Justice Administration (LEJA) department will host a Public Safety Open House from 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Wednesday, March 6 in the University Union Grand Ballroom.

WIU to Offer Virtual Graduate Information Sessions

Have you thought about going back to school? The Western Illinois University School of Graduate Studies will offer multiple virtual information sessions this semester and summer. Individuals intereste

In memoriam: Hal 'Tiny' Devore

Hal "Tiny" Devore, who was an assistant football coach at Monmouth College in the 1980s and '90s, died Monday in Galesburg, Illinois, at the age of 86. One of "Tiny's Fat Boys" summarized the impact t

bottom of page