top of page

C. Andrew McGadney to be Inaugurated as Twentieth President of Knox College on Friday, May 6

GALESBURG, Illinois – Knox College will celebrate the inauguration of C. Andrew McGadney as 20th president of Knox College with a formal installation ceremony. The ceremony is free and open to the public at 11:00 a.m., Friday, May 6, at the Orpheum Theatre on South Kellogg Street. The installation will be recorded and shared on the Knox College Inauguration website the following day for those who cannot make it to campus to attend. The full schedule can be found here.

During the ceremony, honorary degrees will be presented to Sara Jane Ahmed, Knox Class of 2012, a financial and environmental strategist leading a worldwide initiative to build clean energy economies for people in regions most affected by climate change; David A. Greene, twentieth president of Colby College in Waterville, Maine; and Haki R. Madhubuti, a best-selling author, poet, publisher, editor, and educator, who is widely regarded as one of the architects of the Black Arts Movement. The three honorary degree recipients will be featured in academic symposia during the afternoon of Thursday, May 5, prior to the installation ceremony on Friday.

“These three honorary degree recipients are relentless innovators who, through their determination, creativity, versatility, and leadership have moved their respective fields, and the world, forward,” said McGadney.

Kevin J. Hastings, Rothwell Stevens Distinguished Professor of Mathematics will receive the Presidential Faculty Achievement Award for Excellence.

Delegates from more than 40 colleges and universities throughout the United States will attend.

Speaking at the ceremony will be Nancy Eberhardt, Szold Distinguished Service Professor of Anthropology; Tony Etz ’83, chair of the Knox College Board of Trustees; Peter Schwartzman, mayor of Galesburg and Knox professor of environmental studies; Jonathan G. Powers, assistant professor of economics; Rebecca Yowler, assistant librarian for research and instruction; Jamil Davis ’23, campus life chair of the Knox Student Senate; and Konrad Hamilton, Burkhardt Distinguished Chair in History and chair of American studies. The Knox Chamber Brass Ensemble, directed by Chuck MacKinnon, Sudbury Resident Artist in Jazz and Popular Musics, will perform as well as the Knox College Choir, directed by Laura Lane, professor of music.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page