top of page

IHSA Announces 2021-22 Officials of the Year

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) is proud to announce its 2021-22 Officials of the Year in 22 IHSA sports. To be considered for this honor, an official must first be nominated by an Officials Association recognized by the IHSA. IHSA staff members then vote on the winners based on factors such as character, skill as an official, and levels worked in the IHSA State Series. This year’s winners will be recognized at a banquet during the 2022 IHSA Officials Conference, which will be held on Saturday, July 9 at Normal Community West High School. “Officials are vital to our students’ high school sports experience, and we are proud to be able to honor these 22 outstanding individuals as IHSA Officials of the Year,” said IHSA Assistant Executive Director and Officials Department administrator Sam Knox. "High school sports do not exist without them and the countless other officials around Illinois whom IHSA schools rely on every day. This award only recognizes a small percentage of our dedicated and talented officials, but we know they are all worthy of our respect and admiration. We understand they do not officiate for awards or recognition, but it remains a very special tradition for the IHSA to be able to honor its Officials of the Year.” See the full list of honorees by sport below: IHSA OFFICIALS OF THE YEAR

Sport Official of the Year Hometown

Boys Soccer Doug Neufeldt Roselle

Girls Soccer Hannah Shehaiber Chicago Ridge

Football Donald Hackler Ridge Farm

Boys Basketball David Gilliand Stockton

Girls Basketball Randy Wilson West Chicago

Boys Lacrosse Brian Larsen Salem, WI

Girls Lacrosse Patrick Fajardo Schaumburg

Baseball Tom Plaster Freeport

Softball Rich Birckelbaw Bloomington

Girls Volleyball Joseph Meyer Springfield

Boys Volleyball Tarah Dickerson Chicago

Boys Swimming & Diving Dennis Yard Dixon

Girls Swimming & Diving Glenn Gabriel Hickory Hill

Water Polo Joseph Fritsch Bensenville

Cross Country David Stier Sherman

Boys Track & Field Joseph Geiger Frankfort

Girls Track & Field Andrew Bergstrom Rockford

Wrestling Ray Eickelschulte Fowler

Boys Gymnastics Zach Crandell Arlington Heights

Girls Gymnastics Annette Nocek Lombard

Competitive Cheer Laurie Wager O'Fallon

Competitive Dance Christina Erickson Mundelein

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sandburg 2024 spring semester dean’s, honors lists

Sandburg has released the names of students who qualified for the dean’s list and honors list for the 2024 spring semester. To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must be enrolled full-time (at lea


bottom of page